Welcome to OpenChannels, the community hub for sustainable ocean management and conservation

With the latest news, research, events, jobs, and more, OpenChannels makes it easy for you to stay informed on sustainable ocean management and conservation – including the practice of marine protected areas and ecosystem-based management. Over 80,000 ocean professionals used OpenChannels in the past year alone.

Getting started? Create a free user account and sign-up for our weekly e-mail updates.

  • Our Literature Update - published every Wednesday - delivers the latest journal articles, reports, and books to your inbox.
  • Our Weekly Update - published every Friday - highlights the most important information put on OpenChannels in the past week.
  • Contribute to the community - attend our webinars, search the site’s thousands of news and literature items and post your own news, jobs, and blogs. See here for more options. 

Questions? We're here to help you help the oceans!

E-mail either Allie Brown, OCTO's Communications and Outreach Director, at allie [at] octogroup.org or Raye Evrard, Project Manager for OpenChannels at raye [at] octogroup.org

You may also find us on Twitter @OpenOCTO or Facebook @OpenOCTO 

Join us for a webinar on Financing Coral Reef Conservation and Management with Tourism-Related Tools

Presented by: David Meyers of the Conservation Finance Alliance

This webinar will be offered at two different times:

  • Viewing 1: Wednesday, July 17, Noon US EDT/9 am US PDT/4 pm UTC
  • Viewing 2: Wednesday, July 17, 9 pm US EDT/6 pm US PDT (Thursday, July 18, 9 am Australian WST/11 am Australian EST/1 am UTC)

Description: Coral reefs provide enormous economic value to humanity, and their value for recreation is one of the easiest to capture financially. This webinar will explore the range of existing and emerging tools that protected areas and site managers can use to capture funds from tourism for conservation and management. Specifically the webinar will discuss the use of: 1) entry, activity, and special use fees; 2) commercial concessions; 3) departure taxes; 4) partnerships with hotels; and 5) voluntary donations. This webinar is sponsored by the International Coral Reef Initiative (ICRI), an informal partnership which strives to preserve coral reefs and related ecosystems around the world, as part of its collaboration with the Conservation Finance Alliance for promoting innovative financing for coral reef conservation.

For more information and to register, click here!