Live Chat on Defining MPAs under Aichi 11 with Dan Laffoley of IUCN's World Commission on Protected Areas and Lauren Wenzel of the US National Marine Protected Area Center

Event Date: 
Tuesday, May 5, 2015 at Noon US EDT / 9 am US PDT / 4 pm GMT

In this interactive “Office Hour” chat, Dan Laffoley of IUCN’s World Commission on Protected Areas and Lauren Wenzel of the US National Marine Protected Area Center answered your questions about how Marine Protected Areas are defined under Aichi Target 11 and the likelihood of meeting the target which states: “By 2020, at least … 10 per cent of coastal and marine areas, especially areas of particular importance for biodiversity and ecosystem services, are conserved through effectively and equitably managed, ecologically representative and well-connected systems of protected areas and other effective area-based conservation measures, and integrated into the wider landscape and seascape.”

In addition, they answered questions about progress at meeting other international commitments such as The Promise of Sydney, as well as general MPA representativeness and management effectiveness issues. Chat co-sponsored by the EBM Tools Network.


Live Blog Live Chat on Defining MPAs under Aichi 11

Add new comment