Interactive Q&A: Global study finds MPA siting is biased toward areas unpromising for extraction – Rodolphe Devillers and Jack Kittinger answered your questions

Event Date: 
Wednesday, March 26, 2014 at 1 pm EDT / 10 am PDT / 5 pm GMT

Transcript: If you missed this live event, the transcript is available below.

In this interactive ‘Office Hour’ chat, co-authors Rodolphe Devillers (Memorial University of Newfoundland) and Jack Kittinger (Center for Ocean Solutions at Stanford University) took your questions on their recent article in the journal Aquatic Conservation, “Reinventing residual reserves in the sea: are we favouring ease of establishment over need for protection?

In their analysis of MPAs worldwide, with a particular focus on Australia, Devillers and Kittinger found that new MPAs are typically biased toward places that are remote or unpromising for extractive activities (fishing and petroleum extraction). Such locations typically provide little protection to the species and ecosystems that are currently most exposed to threatening processes. As a result, the new MPAs present almost no difference to “business as usual” for current ocean uses.

Their paper, which recommends steps to prevent the bias, is available in Open Access at: http://openchannels.org/literature-library/1393878373

About the Office Hour format

The event was a live interactive chat conducted by typing and reading text. There was no audio component.

Office Hour chats provide an opportunity for audience members to ask questions to our guests; audience members may also share their own experiences and insights with the guests and other participants. All participants are able (and encouraged) to post, and all participants are able to view all posts. Inappropriate or off-topic content will be controlled.


Add new comment