Live Chat on the World Heritage Marine Programme with Fanny Douvere of UNESCO

Event Date: 
Tuesday, September 22, 2015 at Noon EDT / 9am PDT / 4pm UTC

The UNESCO World Heritage Marine Programme (WHMP) was created in 2005 to establish effective conservation of the unique marine areas protected under the 1972 World Heritage Convention. Today, the 47 coastal and marine World Heritage sites represent the 'Crown Jewels of our Ocean' and are recognized for their outstanding beauty, exceptional biodiversity, or unique ecological, biological or geological processes. They are selected under strict criteria and through a rigorous nomination, evaluation and inscription process. In cooperation with a variety of partners, the WHMP is developing innovative ways to support site managers with their conservation challenges, while simultaneously advancing the application of the World Heritage Convention for protecting the planet’s most valuable and unique marine places.

In this interactive “Office Hour” chat, Dr. Fanny Douvere, Coordinator of the UNESCO World Heritage Progamme, was available to discuss all things related to the Programme including what the program does, the impact that it has, how the program is developing and expanding, and why the World Heritage Committee has a unique ability to hold nations accountable for their conservation actions.

Chat co-sponsored by the EBM Tools Network.


Live Blog Live Chat on the World Heritage Marine Programme

Add new comment