News and Updates

Community Updates - External Link
Posted on June 7, 2017 - 11:53am, by CCRN

June 12th 2017 at 12:00 noon Eastern Daylight Time (9 am PDT; 1 pm ADT; 4 pm UTC)

What are the fundamental principles of engagement of First Nations governments, organizations and peoples in community conservation, land use and resource management issues? How can these principles, such as respect, guide process and action?

This talk will cover these questions, as well as what reconciliation means in this context. Much has been written about the importance of reconciling Traditional Knowledge with Western Natural and Social Sciences. How to reconcile the natural world with cross-cultural capacity development for equitable and sustainable conservation and livelihoods outcomes, however, is less clear. Connected people leads to healthy communities – so what needs to happen for true reconciliation to occur?

Community Updates - External Link
Posted on June 7, 2017 - 11:34am, by abrown

Via Papua New Guinea Today

"Samoa’s key statements were that the ocean could be a good breeding ground to push boundaries for gender equality, and that the lack of capacity or scientific know-how should not be used as excuses to deprive Pacific islanders from enjoying their rightful share of ocean resources."

Community Updates - External Link
Posted on June 7, 2017 - 11:27am, by abrown

Via New China

"A petition signed by more than 1 million people to phase out single use plastic worldwide within the next five years will be presented to UN Environment to support its Clean Seas campaign to end marine litter."

Community Updates - External Link
Posted on June 7, 2017 - 11:15am, by abrown

Via Plastic News

"The environmental group Ocean Conservancy and its plastics industry partners are publicly committing to raise at least $10 million by 2020 for scientific research and to build public support for addressing problems from plastics in the oceans."

Community Updates - External Link
Posted on June 7, 2017 - 11:03am, by abrown

Via Manila Bulletin

"With recent commitments made by governments around the globe, the United Nations Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD) is optimistic that the world is on track to protect over 10 percent of the globe’s marine areas by 2020."

Pages