OpenChannels Weekly Update Archives

Subscribe to OpenChannels Newsletters

Would you like to subscribe to the OpenChannels Weekly Update or weekly Literature Update? Simply create a free OpenChannels Member Account and check the boxes for the Weekly Update and/or Literature Update newsletters.


Citizen Science for Coastal and Marine Environments Webinar #2: Latest Research, Redmap Australia, Reef Watch, and Feral or In Peril

Greetings OpenChannels Community members,

OpenChannels and the EBM Tools Network are pleased to announce the second webinar in our series, Citizen Science for Coastal and Marine Environments. This webinar will feature emerging research on marine citizen science in Australia, Redmap Australia, Reefwatch, Feral or in Peril, and Monitoring Seas and Inspiring Communities. The webinar will be held on July 18 at 10 am Australian EST (July 17 at 5 pm US PDT). For more information and to register for the webinar, please visit http://bit.ly/OpenChannels39.

Citizen Science for Coastal and Marine Environments

Greetings OpenChannels Community members,

OpenChannels and the EBM Tools Network will be hosting a webinar on Tuesday, June 4 at 2 pm US EDT / 11 am US PDT / 6 pm GMT discussing Citizen Science for Coastal and Marine Environments. This webinar will be featuring U.S. projects, including Reef Check California, COASST, and MPA Watch. A second webinar on Australian projects will be announced shortly. For full details, and to register for the webinar, please visit http://bit.ly/openchannels33.

It was a lively debate with Bud Ehler and Tundi Agardy on ocean zoning in MSP

Greetings OpenChannels Community members,

If you missed the live online debate with Bud Ehler and Tundi Agardy on "Does marine spatial planning need to involve ocean zoning to be effective?" it is now archived at http://bit.ly/ocdebate2. Bud and Tundi were very quick typists, and I thank them and all our live attendees for their active participation! If you have suggestions for future debates, I'd love to hear them. Please email me your ideas at nwehner [at] openchannels.org.

Online Debate: Does marine spatial planning need to involve ocean zoning to be effective? With Bud Ehler and Tundi Agardy

Greetings OpenChannels Community members,

We have an exciting event planned for Tuesday, May 7, 2013, at noon EDT / 9 am PDT / 4 pm GMT, the inaugural online OpenChannels Debate with Bud Ehler and Tundi Agardy. These two experts will be taking sides on the question, "Does marine spatial planning need to involve ocean zoning to be effective?" @OpenChannelsOrg will be live-tweeting the event - follow us and take part in the live debate using #ocdebate. Audience members are encouraged to submit questions/comments, which may be thrown-in amongst the debaters' arguments. For full details, please visit http://bit.ly/ocdebate1.

Mining Twitter for Marine Spatial Planning

Greetings OpenChannels Community members,

If you missed Wednesday's Office Hour on the Global Ocean Legacy project of The Pew Charitable Trusts, with Imogen Zethoven, it is now archived at http://bit.ly/openchannels18. And if you're wondering how to convey technically-difficult information to stakeholders in your planning process, Hedley Grantham, Director of Spatial Analysis and Planning at Conservation International, offers advice at http://bit.ly/openchannels19.

Voices in Ocean Planning: Lessons from Leaders

Greetings OpenChannels Community members,

I am pleased to announce today the availability of the "Voices in Ocean Planning: Lessons from Leaders" series. You may view the first set of 1-4 minute videos in the series at http://openchannels.org/videos/oc.

The "Voices in Ocean Planning: Lessons from Leaders" video series, produced by OpenChannels and PacMARA, offers wisdom and guidance on ocean management from experienced professionals in our field. Advice on creating strong management plans in the face of budget uncertainties, engaging stakeholders in the planning process, enhancing communication skills within planning bodies, and more tips and insights are provided in this series.

Introducing the OpenChannels Weekly Update

Greetings OpenChannels Community Members,

I am pleased to announce the start of the weekly OpenChannels Update. There is new information added to OpenChannels every day, so we'll do our best to keep you apprised of the highlights. We'll give you the most popular new content each week across our different content areas. If you have info which you would like to share, please contribute to the community - just visit the http://OpenChannels.org homepage to begin, or email me at nwehner [at] openchannels.org.

Two Events Today - Office Hour on SeaSketch and Live Streaming of MSP in the Netherlands

Greetings OpenChannels Community,

We have two events in store for today, Tuesday, February 19th:

At 1 pm EST / 10 am PST, we'll be having an Office Hour on SeaSketch with Will McClintock and Evan Paul of the Center for Marine Assessment and Planning. Office hour chats provide an opportunity for participants to ask panelists questions as well as share their own experiences and insights with panelists and other participants.

An Eventful Tuesday: Office Hour on SeaSketch and Presentation on MSP in the Netherlands

Greetings OpenChannels Members,

We have an event-full Tuesday on February 19th. At 1pm EST / 10am PST, there will be an Office Hour on SeaSketch, followed by our first-ever "live streaming" of David Goldsborough's presentation on MSP in the Netherlands at 6pm EST / 3pm PST. For full details, follow the links to the OpenChannels website.

Thursday: Office Hour on the Multipurpose Marine Cadastre

Greetings OpenChannels Member,

We thought you'd like to know that tomorrow (Thursday, January 17) at 2 pm EST / 11 am PST / 7 pm GMT we'll be having our next Office Hour with the team of the Multipurpose Marine Cadastre. Join Christine Taylor, Lead Physical Scientist, Mapping and Boundary Branch, BOEM; and, David Stein, Geographer, Geospatial Services Division, NOAA Coastal Services Center for a live text-based chat on the MMC's updated features.

Pages