OpenChannels Weekly Update Archives

Subscribe to OpenChannels Newsletters

Would you like to subscribe to the OpenChannels Weekly Update or weekly Literature Update? Simply create a free OpenChannels Member Account and check the boxes for the Weekly Update and/or Literature Update newsletters.


Tuesday! Online Debate with Callum Roberts & Ray Hilborn: Large no-take areas — Is their total environmental impact positive or negative?

Greetings OpenChannels Community Members,

On Tuesday, join us for a live online debate with Callum Roberts and Ray Hilborn on the topic Large no-take areas — Is their total environmental impact positive or negative? It will take place for one-hour on Tuesday, October 8, 2013 at noon EDT / 9 am PDT / 4 pm GMT. For full details, please visit http://bit.ly/OCDebate2.

*News Update - 15 new posts this week*
The latest issue of MPA News details the Australian Government's decision to review boundaries and regulations of MPAs designated last year. For full details, please visit http://bit.ly/OpenChannels122.

Wednesday! Live Q&A on Marine Ecosystem Services with Linwood Pendleton

Greetings OpenChannels Community Members,

This coming Wednesday at 1 pm US EDT / 10 am US PDT / 5 pm GMT we'll be having a Live Q&A with Linwood Pendleton on Marine Ecosystem Services. Have any questions on the topic? This is your chance to ask the expert! For full details, please visit http://bit.ly/OCOffice5.

*News Update - 2 new posts this week*
The World Maritime University is hosting a Maritime Spatial Planning, Shipping & Ports Workshop: Development in the Baltic Sea next month in Brussels. For full details, please visit http://bit.ly/OpenChannels116.

What Will Adaptation Cost? An Economic Framework for Coastal Community Infrastructure

Greetings OpenChannels Community Members,

We have an upcoming webinar next week co-hosted by the EBM Tools Network, “What Will Adaptation Cost? An Economic Framework for Coastal Community Infrastructure” by Heidi Stiller of NOAA. The webinar is scheduled for Wednesday, September 25, 2013 at 1 pm EDT / 10 am PDT / 5 pm GMT. To register, please visit http://bit.ly/OCWebinar5.

RFP for Ocean Planning Stakeholder Engagement Support

Greetings OpenChannels Community Members,

We heard that you'd like information about the grants and RFPs added to OpenChannels in the Weekly Update, so here they are! We added two this week, including one for Fishing for Energy and another for Stakeholder Engagement Support in New England. Visit the Grants page for all the current grants/RFPs at http://OpenChannels.org/Grants.

Upcoming Webinar on Water Quality Threats to Marine Protected Areas

Greetings OpenChannels Community Members,

Join us Thursday, September 12th at 1 pm EDT / 10 am PDT / 5 pm GMT for a webinar on Water Quality Threats to Marine Protected Areas by John Walthen of the US EPA and Johanna Weston of the California State Water Board. To attend, you must register in advance at http://bit.ly/OpenChannelsWebinar2.

Keep track of new content with new Custom Homepages

Greetings OpenChannels Community Members,

I am pleased to announce our newest addition to the OpenChannels feature set, Custom Homepages.

Custom Homepages allow you to organize and color-code content blocks, such as upcoming webinars and additions to the Literature Library, to your liking. Just want to keep track of news and jobs? Then simply delete the other blocks with one click. Content which has been added since your last visit is automatically flagged as "new."

Pages