OpenChannels Weekly Update Archives

Subscribe to OpenChannels Newsletters

Would you like to subscribe to the OpenChannels Weekly Update or weekly Literature Update? Simply create a free OpenChannels Member Account and check the boxes for the Weekly Update and/or Literature Update newsletters.


Guide to Consistent Protection Across Europe from Destructive Fishing in EU Natura 2000 Sites

For the weeks of 15 & 22 June 2015

Greetings OpenChannels Community Members,

Join us Tuesday, July 14 at 2 pm GMT / 4 pm CEST / 10 am EDT / 7 am PDT for an upcoming webinar on a Guide to Consistent Protection Across Europe from Destructive Fishing in EU Natura 2000 Sites. This webinar will describe how the Marine Conservation Society and ClientEarth have collaborated for seven years on a national campaign to protect EMS from destructive fishing, and how UK authorities and regulators have responded. That response includes several promising new initiatives to deliver improved protection for EMS, developed with fishing communities. Jean-Luc and Catherine suggest that the UK experience is adaptable to other EU member states that also face destructive fishing in their own EMS. For more inforation and to register, please visit http://bit.ly/OCWebinar42.

Thank you for being a part of the OpenChannels Community,
-Nick Wehner, OpenChannels Project Manager, and the rest of the OpenChannels Team

Live 'Office Hour' Chat on the World Heritage Marine Programme with Fanny Douvere of UNESCO

For the week of 01 June 2015

Greetings OpenChannels Community Members,

Join us Thursday, 16 July 2015 at Noon EDT / 9am PDT / 4pm UTC for a live 'Office Hour' chat with Fanny Douvere of UNESCO on the World Heritage Marine Programme. Dr. Douvere, Coordinator of the UNESCO World Heritage Progamme, will be available to discuss all things related to the Programme including what the program does, the impact that it has, how the program is developing and expanding, and why the World Heritage Committee has a unique ability to hold nations accountable for their conservation actions. For more information and to set an email reminder, please visit http://bit.ly/OCChat8.

Thank you for being a part of the OpenChannels Community,
-Nick Wehner, OpenChannels Project Manager, and the rest of the OpenChannels Team

Global Fishery Recovery: Possibilities and pathways for the future

For the week of 25 May 2015

Greetings OpenChannels Community Members,

Join us Tuesday, July 7, 2015 at 1pm EDT / 10am PDT / 5pm UTC for a webinar on Global Fishery Recovery: Possibilities and pathways for the future. What is the potential of the world's ocean fisheries? In this webinar, Environmental Defense Fund and partners will discuss new research on the potential of the world's ocean fisheries. The presentation will focus on the current status of global fisheries and the possible biological, social and economic outcomes from recovering the many that are currently at-risk. For more information and to register, please visit http://bit.ly/OCWebinar55.

Thank you for being a part of the OpenChannels Community,
-Nick Wehner, OpenChannels Project Manager, and the rest of the OpenChannels Team

Join us Thursday, June 11 for a webinar on Lessons Learned: Impacts of Coastal and Ocean Tourism

For the week of 18 May 2015

Greetings OpenChannels Community Members,

Join us Thursday, June 11 at 2pm EDT / 10am PDT / 5pm GMT for a webinar on Lessons Learned: Impacts of Coastal and Ocean Tourism with Martha Honey, Executive Director of the Center for Responsible Travel (CREST). Coastal resort and cruise tourism are the fastest growing sectors of the tourism industry, and uncontrolled, large scale tourism development is causing an array of environmental damage to beaches, coastal waters, and some MPAs. In addition, coastal & marine tourism is both a contributor to and victim of climate change. This presentation examines some of these problems, as well as efforts by industry innovators to construct and operate coastal and marine tourism in ways that minimize environmental impacts and mitigate and adapt to climate change. For more information and to register, please visit http://bit.ly/OCWebinar54.

Thank you for being a part of the OpenChannels Community,
-Nick Wehner, OpenChannels Project Manager, and the rest of the OpenChannels Team

EDF's EU Discard Reduction Manual: A Guide for Fishermen, Fishery Managers and Member States

For the week of 11 May 2015

Greetings OpenChannels Community Members,

Join us Thursday, June 25 at 11am EDT / 8am PDT / 3pm GMT / 4pm BST for a webinar on the Environmental Defense Fund's EU Discard Reduction Manual: A Guide for Fishermen, Fishery Managers and Member States. In March, Environmental Defense Fund released the first ever user-friendly guide to help EU fishermen, fishery managers and Member State regulators find ways to successfully implement the landing obligation. In this Webinar, two of the Discard Reduction Manual’s key developers will discuss the management tools presented in the document and how they can best be practically applied on the water, drawing on success stories such as the UK North Sea and English Channel Discard Pilot Projects, which across the fleets reduced discarding to a rate of 0-6%. For more information and to register, please visit http://bit.ly/OCWebinar53.

Thank you for being a part of the OpenChannels Community,
-Nick Wehner, OpenChannels Project Manager, and the rest of the OpenChannels Team

IMBER-ADApT: A Decision Support Tool for Responding to Global Change

For the week of 04 May 2015

Greetings OpenChannels Community Members,

Join us Thursday, May 28 at noon EDT / 9 am PDT / 4 pm GMT for a webinar on IMBER-ADApT: A Decision Support Tool for Responding to Global Change presented by the IMBER Human Dimensions Working Group. IMBER-ADApT is intended to enable and enhance decision-making through the development, a typology of case-studies providing lessons on how the natural, social and governance systems respond to the challenges of global change. Fisheries, which suffer from multiple pressures, are the current focus of the proposed framework, but it could be applied to a wide range of global change issues. For more information and to register, please visit http://bit.ly/OCWebinar53.

Thank you for being a part of the OpenChannels Community,
-Nick Wehner, OpenChannels Project Manager, and the rest of the OpenChannels Team

IUCN Green List and Marine Protected Areas

For the week of 27 April 2015

Greetings OpenChannels Community Members,

Join us Thursday, May 14 at 1pm EDT / 10 am PDT / 5 pm GMT for a webinar on the IUCN Green List and Marine Protected Areas with James Hardcastle of IUCN and Sue Wells of WCPA-Marine. The IUCN Green List is a new and progressive initiative that encourages and celebrates the success of protected areas, both terrestrial and marine, that reach excellent standards of management. This webinar will discuss the origins and implementation of the IUCN Green List including standards that protected areas must meet to be listed and how marine and coastal sites are engaging in the process. For more information and to register, please visit http://bit.ly/OCWebinar52.

Thank you for being a part of the OpenChannels Community,
-Nick Wehner, OpenChannels Project Manager, and the rest of the OpenChannels Team

Join us Tuesday, May 5 for a Live Chat on Defining MPAs under Aichi 11

For the week of 20 April 2015

Greetings OpenChannels Community Members,

Join us Tuesday, May 5 at Noon EDT / 9 am PDT / 4 pm GMT for a live "Office Hour" chat on Defining MPAs under Aichi 11 with Dan Laffoley of IUCN's World Commission on Protected Areas and Lauren Wenzel of the US National MPA Center. They will will answer your questions about how Marine Protected Areas are defined under Aichi Target 11 and the likelihood of meeting the target. In addition, they will be answering questions about progress at meeting other international commitments such as The Promise of Sydney, as well as general MPA representativeness and management effectiveness issues. For more information and to set an email reminder, please visit http://bit.ly/OCChat3.

Thank you for being a part of the OpenChannels Community,
-Nick Wehner, OpenChannels Project Manager, and the rest of the OpenChannels Team

Community-Based Sea Level Rise Projections

For the week of 13 April 2015

Greetings OpenChannels Community Members,

Join us Thursday, April 30 at 1 pm EDT / 10 am PDT / 5 pm GMT for a webinar on Community-Based Sea Level Rise Projections with Ian Miller of Washington Sea Grant. WSG has partnered with the Jamestown S'Klallam Tribe and Adaptation International to develop local sea level rise projections and sea level scenario maps for the Jamestown S'Klallam community. The assessments are being used to identify tribal areas or resources that are particularly vulnerable to sea level rise and priority adaptation actions and are already being integrated into long-term community planning. This webinar will present a process for developing community-based sea level rise projections and facilitating their use. For more information and to register, please visit http://bit.ly/OCWebinar51.

Thank you for being a part of the OpenChannels Community,
-Nick Wehner, OpenChannels Project Manager, and the rest of the OpenChannels Team

Discovering Data and Informing Regional Ocean Health Priorities with the West Coast Ocean Data Portal

For the week of 06 April 2015

Greetings OpenChannels Community Members,

Join us Tuesday, April 28 at 1 pm EDT / 10 am PDT / 5 pm GMT for a webinar on Discovering Data and Informing Regional Ocean Health Priorities with the West Coast Ocean Data Portal with Todd Hallenbeck of the West Coast Governors Alliance on Ocean Health. Using the portal, practitioners can discover and analyze a comprehensive database of marine debris cleanup observations to visualize spatial patterns and trends. Understanding, tracking, and visualizing marine debris sources, sinks, and transport will help resource management agencies and NGOs work to prevent and reduce the impacts of marine debris and derelict fishing gear along the US West Coast. For more information and to register, please visit http://bit.ly/OCWebinar50.

Thank you for being a part of the OpenChannels Community,
-Nick Wehner, OpenChannels Project Manager, and the rest of the OpenChannels Team

Pages