Upcoming Events

Insuring nature: An insurance policy for the Mesoamerican Reef

Event Date: 
February 28, 2018 1pm EST/ 10am PST / 6pm UTC

Join us Wednesday, February 28 2018 for a webinar on Insuring nature: An insurance policy for the Mesoamerican Reef.

Presenter: Fernando Secaira of The Nature Conservancy

Nature, including coral reefs, mangroves, wetlands, sand dunes, and healthy beaches, provides the first lines of defense to slow waves, reduce flooding, and protect coastal people and property. Insuring habitats like reefs and beaches can help protect the health and protective services of these ecosystems and ensure they are restored after extreme storms hit. Fernando Secaira of The Nature Conservancy (TNC) will discuss a pilot project underway in Mexico in partnership with Swiss Re and the Mexican state of Quintana Roo governments to insure coastal natural ecosystems that support tourism and offer an associated source of funding for ongoing reef protection and repair. 

This webinar is co-sponsored by the Reef Resilience Network and the EBM Tools Network (co-coordinated by OCTO and NatureServe).

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.

View System Requirements

Conservation Connections: Species and Places, NOAA's Partnerships for Transboundary Protection Program

Event Date: 
Thursday, March 8, 2018 1pm EDT / 10am PDT / 5pm UTC

Join us Thursday, March 8, 2018 1pm EDT for a webinar on Conservation Connections: Species and Places, NOAA's Partnerships for Transboundary Protection Program. 

Presenters: Lisamarie Carrubba and TBD of NOAA

The Partnerships for Transboundary Protection (PTP) Program was established by NOAA's Office of Protected Resources and Office of National Marine Sanctuaries to better connect conservation efforts directed toward marine species and their habitats. Through collaborative conservation that aligns sanctuary management plans, species' recovery plans, and habitat protection, the PTP Program is working to improve internal coordination and management of threatened and endangered species and their habitats, as well as other NOAA resources such as key fishery species in sanctuaries. The PTP Program is also working on expanding collaboration with other marine protected areas and external partners in order to further support conservation and recovery of species such as whales, corals, and Nassau grouper.

Webinar co-sponsored by the NOAA National MPA Center, MPA News, and the EBM Tools Network (co-coordinated by OCTO and NatureServe).

Two perspectives on evaluating MPA management effectiveness: lessons learned from Australia's Great Barrier Reef and India

Event Date: 
Tuesday, March 13, 2018, 5 pm EDT / 2 pm PDT / 9 pm UTC

Join us Tuesday, March 13, 2018, 5 pm EDT / 2 pm PDT / 9 pm UTC for a webinar on Two perspectives on evaluating MPA management effectiveness: lessons learned from Australia's Great Barrier Reef and India

Presenter:  Jon C. Day of the ARC Centre for Coral Reef Studies at James Cook University

The term ‘Management Effectiveness Evaluation’ (or MEE) is well recognized as an important part of adaptive management for any protected area.  Differing assessment methodologies have emerged around the world, many of them building upon the Framework agreed by the International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN) and its World Commission on Protected Areas (WCPA) for assessing management effectiveness. In this talk, Jon will discuss some of the lessons learned when applying the IUCN/WCPA framework to assess MEE in a large and complex marine protected area (MPA) like the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park. Jon will compare and contrast this with a similar, but simpler, use of the same IUCN framework that he developed, working in conjunction with GIZ India, for Indian MPAs. 

Webinar co-sponsored by the NOAA National MPA Center, MPA News, and the EBM Tools Network (co-coordinated by OCTO and NatureServe).

Optimizing Restoration Activities for Ecosystem Services: The Restoration Opportunities Optimization Tool (ROOT)

Event Date: 
Thursday, March 22, 2018 at 2pm EDT / 11am PDT / 6pm UTC

Join us Thursday, March 22, 2018 at 2pm EDT / 11am PDT / 6pm UTC for a webinar on Optimizing Restoration Activities for Ecosystem Services: The Restoration Opportunities Optimization Tool (ROOT) .  

Presenter: Peter Hawthorne of the University of Minnesota and the Natural Capital Project

Restoration Opportunities Optimization Tool (ROOT) is a software tool that helps decision makers evaluate trade-offs among different ecosystem services and visualize where investments in restoration could be made to optimize benefits for multiple landscape goals. It uses information about the potential impacts of restoration or management activities together with spatial prioritization or serviceshed maps to identify key areas for ecosystem service provision. It then uses multi-objective analysis to allow users to consider how to best manage tradeoffs between different project goals. ROOT has been applied in Costa Rica, Myanmar, Malawi, Colombia, and Brazil’s Espirito Santo State to help these countries optimize the placement of restoration activities for ecosystem services in national and subnational conservation, development, and agricultural objectives in support of increased ecological function to benefit people and livelihoods. It has not yet been applied in a coastal context but is applicable to coastal areas as well. The tool is free for download and use at https://www.naturalcapitalproject.org/root.

Webinar co-sponsored by EBM Tools Network (co-coordinated by NatureServe and OCTO) 

Register for the webinar at https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_aRKelKZITpeb-1z-NX23ig

The MPA reality check: A chance to see fisheries management in English MPAs

Event Date: 
Thursday, March 29, Noon EDT / 9 am PDT / 4 pm UTC

Join us Thursday, March 29, Noon EDT / 9 am PDT / 4 pm UTC for a webinar on The MPA reality check: A chance to see fisheries management in English MPAs

Presenters: Jean-Luc Solandt of the Marine Conservation Society and Tom Mullier of Marine Mapping Ltd

Political parties in England and Scotland are working together to develop a network of new MPAs (known as marine conservation zones or MCZs in England). The UK government is designating a final tranche of MCZs by the end of 2018. UK MCZs are different from other MPAs worldwide, however, because management measures for MCZs aren’t explicit for entire sites (or zones) but are instead eventually implemented for individual species and habitat features within sites. This leads to a complex system where regulators assemble evidence of cause and damage (or the potential for damage) to features in sites and manage accordingly. With this system, elements such as connectivity, representation, and replication can be assessed relatively easily, but it is difficult to assess level of protection. In addition to working on Brexit, the UK government – and local regulators (Inshore Fisheries and Conservation Authorities) – have been working to implement fisheries management measures in English sites in recent years. The NGO Marine Conservation Society (MCS) is keen for the public, sea users, and journalists to become aware of where proactive regulation is happening, and for which habitats. To this end, MCS has worked with Marine Mapping Ltd to develop a tool MPA Reality Check (https://map.mpa-reality-check.org) to show were active fisheries management is taking place in these English MPAs. This webinar will describe the tool, political reasons for implementation of controls, and where (e.g., offshore sites) there has been limited progress due to EU processes.

Webinar hosted by the EBM Tools Network (co-coordinated by OCTO and NatureServe)

Ghost Fishing Gear: The Global Problem and the Global Solution

Event Date: 
Tuesday, April 10, 2018 at 6pm EDT / 3pm PDT / 10pm UTC / Wednesday, April 11 at 8am AEST / 10am NZST

This webinar will be presented by Ingrid Giskes (Chair of the Global Ghost Gear Initiative Steering Group, and Head of Campaign for Sea Change, World Animal Protection), David Parker (Head of Corporate Social Responsibility, Young’s Seafood, and Vice-Chair of the Global Ghost Gear Initiative), and Joan Drinkwin (Associate Partner, Natural Resource Consultants).

Each year, worldwide, millions of animals living in our oceans are mutilated and killed by abandoned, lost or discarded fishing gear – ‘ghost gear’. These animals suffer severe acute or chronic welfare impacts; ranging from drowning in minutes to suffering from debilitating wounds for months or years before finally dying.

In 2014, World Animal Protection launched its Sea Change campaign with the Fishing’s Phantom Menace report, highlighting that cross-sectoral global collaboration was the only way to combat ghost gear. In 2015, World Animal Protection launched the Global Ghost Gear Initiative (GGGI), bringing together a critical group of stakeholders and experts on this topic. The GGGI addresses sea-based sources of marine debris, specifically abandoned, lost, and discarded fishing gear, and contributes to the delivery of the first target (14.1) under United Nations Sustainable Development Goal 14, calling for a significant reduction in marine debris of all kinds by 2025.

Now, as we head into 2018, join us to hear about how the GGGI’s three working groups – Building Evidence, Best Practice, and Solutions – have played a key role in formulating a global approach and strategy to tackling this deadly issue, and working towards ghost gear-free seas.

Webinar cosponsored by MarineDebris.Info and the EBM Tools Network (co-coordinated by NatureServe and OCTO).

Why Polystyrene Is The New Microbead

Event Date: 
Thursday, April 26 at 1pm EDT / 10am PDT / 5pm UTC

This webinar will be presented by Rachel Lincoln Sarnoff, Executive Director of The 5 Gyres Institute.

Through the 5 Gyres nix the 6 Action Campaign, thousands of people have pledged to refuse single-use polystyrene plastic. What does it mean to Nix the 6? #sneakystyrene polysytrene products are everywhere, from coffee cup lids to straws, cutlery and cups (even red SOLO cups). Expanded polystyrene foam—commonly known as "Styrofoam"—is basically polystyrene that's expanded with air. You can identify these plastics by the number "6" on the bottom. When you Nix the 6, you pledge to refuse these single-use plastics. 

Why is this so important? 5 Gyres has seen how individual decisions like these can snowball into massive change. Our 2012 study that discovered plastic microbeads in the Great Lakes inspired a movement, culminating with major corporate phase out—think L’Oreal and Johnson & Johnson—and statewide bans on both coasts. In 2015, President Obama signed a federal microbeads ban into law!

Like microbeads, polystyrene plastics are environmental hazards. They are extremely toxic to make and difficult to recycle. Polystyrene and "Styrofoam" are even banned from many recycling programs because of contamination problems—less than 2% of polystyrene was recycled in 2013. 

With local polystyrene bans on many ballots this year and a statewide ban being considered in California, this is the year to join the movement. We did it before with microbeads—now it's time for a polystyrene ban! 

In this webinar, we’ll cover the new 5 Gyres white paper on polystyrene and reproductive toxicity, activism resources, and our partnership with the Post Landfill Action Network (PLAN) to support bans on college campuses—even in preemptive states. 

Meanwhile, look for the #sneakystyrene hashtag to follow the campaign on social media.

Webinar co-sponsored by EBM Tools Network (co-coordinated by NatureServe and OCTO).