Accelerating the solutions to ocean plastic: Trends and lessons from five years of the Marine Plastics Innovation Challenge

Event Date: 
Thursday, September 28, 2017 at 1pm EDT / 10am PDT / 5pm UTC

This webinar will be presented by Anne Warner, Innovation Program Manager at Think Beyond Plastic.

Think Beyond Plastic is an innovation accelerator advancing the transition toward bio-based, bio-benign alternatives to conventional plastics. Since 2012, the organization has run an annual innovation challenge for new materials, consumer and business products and cloud-based services all reducing plastic pollution, and an affiliated incubator for 10-20 selected startups each year. This year’s Innovation Challenge, the Marine Plastics Innovation Challenge whose deadline for entries is 6 October 2017, is co-managed by UN Environment.

This hour-long webinar will examine:

  • Trends and lessons learned from five years of conducting the Innovation Challenge

  • Technologies that have emerged so far from the dozens of startups that Think Beyond Plastic has incubated

  • What the future could hold for alternatives to conventional plastics

Add new comment