The African Marine Waste Network: Inviting Participation

Event Date: 
Tuesday, December 12, 2017 at 1pm EST / 10am PST / 6pm UTC

This Webinar will be presented by Tony Ribbink (Sustainable Seas Trust) on behalf of the African Marine Waste Network (AMWN).

After South East Asia, Africa is pouring the second largest amount of debris into the oceans of world. Predictions are that within the next three decades Africa will produce more marine debris than any other continent unless strong, concerted collaborative actions are taken within countries and across their borders. The AMWN is finding solutions to these challenges. An early step was to host the African Marine Waste Conference (see https://youtu.be/RW9c6GEO9oo) where delegates from Africa interacted with experts from around the world.  The strategy arising from the conference will be outlined in the webinar. People from around the world will be invited to help achieve the goals, particularly in building capacity, education, research and promotion of sustainable economic enterprises in impoverished settlements.

Webinar cosponsored by MarineDebris.Info and the EBM Tools Network (co-coordinated by NatureServe and OCTO).

Add new comment