Blueprint for Coastal Adaptation

Event Date: 
Wednesday, October 13 at 1pm US EDT / 10am US PDT / 5pm UTC

Presented by: Samuel Brody of the Institute for a Disaster Resilient Texas at Texas A&M University at Galveston, Carlos Martin with the Brookings Institution’ Metropolitan Policy Program, and Carolyn Kousky of the Wharton Risk Center at the University of Pennsylvania

Sea level rise will cause interrelated challenges in communities around the United States. The issues extend far beyond land use planning to affect housing policy, financing for public infrastructure, insurance, fostering healthier coastal ecosystems, and more. Planning for the myriad of coastal adaptation challenges is crucial for the survival of many communities. In this webinar you will hear from expert contributors to the new book, A Blueprint for Coastal Adaptation: Uniting Design, Economics, and Policy. They will discuss what a framework for comprehensive coastal flood-risk reduction looks like and how public funding of adaptation is possible.

Co-sponsors: OCTO (EBM Tools Network, The Skimmer, OpenChannels, MPA News, MarineDebris.info)

[If you are unable to access Zoom, you can view a livestream at https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCPBHFN-LvAPNqTC6MZmVNVg at the time of the webinar.]