Bringing finance and conservation together: the Coalition for Private Investment in Conservation

Event Date: 
Tuesday, July 25, 2017 at 1pm US EDT / 10am US PDT / 5pm UTC

This webinar will be presented by John Tobin-de la Puente of Cornell University.

The Coalition for Private Investment in Conservation (CPIC) was launched in September 2016 to develop new investment models and funding pipelines for conservation and sustainable development. Three of the coalition’s initial focus areas are watershed management, green infrastructure for coastal resilience, and sustainable coastal fisheries. The group is currently working on developing investment “blueprints” for these areas, i.e., models for investable deals can that produce both environmental and financial returns. Once these blueprints are ready, the coalition will serve as a hub to connect investable conservation projects with financial organizations that are able to structure deals around those projects. CPIC’s founding partners include Credit Suisse, The Nature Conservancy, IUCN, and Cornell University. Read a 2017 MPA News interview with John Tobin-de la Puente at https://mpanews.openchannels.org/news/mpa-news/400-billion-potential-private-investment-conservation-investors-looking-projects-what. Learn more about CPIC at http://cpicfinance.com.

Webinar co-sponsored by the EBM Tools Network (co-coordinated by NatureServe and OpenChannels.org) and MEAM.

Add new comment