Building a State Plan to Monitor and Assess Marine Litter: Lessons Learned

Event Date: 
Tuesday, February 9, 2021 at 2pm US EST / 11am US PST / 7pm UTC

Marine litter monitoring programs are essential to determining and promoting feasible and effective actions to combat marine litter. However, consistent long-term monitoring programs are scarce worldwide. To address this gap, a statewide plan to monitor and assess marine litter was developed for São Paulo, Brazil. Combining science and public policies in a participatory construct, the plan introduces a set of suggested indicators that can be applied by a wide group of stakeholders and in a variety of locations and contexts.

Presented by: Carla Elliff, Mariana M. de Andrade, Natalia M. Grilli, and Vitória Scrich of the Oceanographic Institute of the University of São Paulo, Brazil

Co-sponsors: OCTO (MarineDebris.info, OpenChannels, The Skimmer, MPA News, EBM Tools Network)

[If you are unable to access Zoom, you can view a livestream here at the time of the webinar]