Climate Change Threatens the World’s Marine Protected Areas

Event Date: 
Monday, July 23, 2018 at 2pm EDT / 11am PDT / 6pm UTC

Join us Monday, July 23, 2018 at 2pm EDT / 11am PDT / 6pm UTC for a webinar on Climate Change Threatens the World’s Marine Protected Areas. 

Presented by: John Bruno of The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

MPAs and the species they protect are increasingly being impacted by climate change. Although MPAs are widely promoted as a means to mitigate the effects of climate change, the opposite perspective is more in line with the scientific reality: without drastic reductions in carbon emissions, ocean warming, acidification and oxygen depletion will disrupt the composition and functioning of the ecosystems currently protected within the world’s MPAs. The community- and ecosystem-level impacts of climate change threaten to negate decades of progress in conservation and further imperil species and ecosystems that are already in jeopardy. 

Webinar co-sponsored by the NOAA National MPA Center, MPA News, and the EBM Tools Network (co-coordinated by OCTO and NatureServe).

Add new comment