Cumulative Impact Tools for Maritime Spatial Planning: Current Status of European Efforts

Event Date: 
Thursday, May 3, 11 am US EDT/8 am US PDT/3 pm UTC

Join us Thursday, May 3, 11 am US EDT/8 am US PDT/3 pm UTC for a webinar on Cumulative Impact Tools for Maritime Spatial Planning: Current Status of European Efforts.

Cumulative impact tools can be useful for evaluating the environmental effects resulting from human activities in a given area. Several initiatives are underway in Europe to develop and enhance cumulative impact tools and assessments to incorporate the ecosystem-based approach in marine management, as called for in multiple policy frameworks (e.g., Marine Strategy Framework Directive, Maritime Spatial Planning Directive, Strategic Environmental Assessment (SEA) Directive, and regional seas conventions such as the Barcelona Convention). This webinar will share latest developments on cumulative impact tools from Europe, including examples of their application from Portugal and Montenegro. The webinar is co-organized by the EU MSP Platform (www.msp-platform.eu), a service funded by the European Commission to share relevant knowledge and experiences on MSP. The EU MSP Platform recently organized an expert roundtable on cumulative impact tools for maritime spatial planning (http://msp-platform.eu/events/cumulative-impacts-tools-expert-roundtable). Conclusions from this roundtable will be shared during the webinar, including limitations and opportunities for further incorporating these tools in MSP and SEA processes.

Add new comment