Developing a financial sustainability assessment tool for Marine Protected Areas

Event Date: 
Tuesday, December 8 at 2pm US EST / 11am US PST / 7pm UTC

Lack of financial resources and staff capacity may limit the effectiveness of Marine Protected Areas (MPAs) in meeting their conservation objectives. We are developing a replicable framework to assess the sustainability of MPA financial strategies and identify potential solutions to identified risks, including improving the efficiency and allocation of available resources, expanding or improving in-place financial mechanisms, and developing alternative financial mechanisms. The framework development and assessment is supported by real-world case studies from Colombia, the Caribbean Netherlands, Belize, and Mexico.

Presented by: John Bohorquez of Stony Brook University

Co-sponsors: NOAA National MPA Center and OCTO (MPA News, OpenChannels, EBM Tools Network)

[If you are unable to access Zoom, you can view a livestream here at the time of the webinar]