EcoCast: A dynamic ocean management tool to reduce bycatch and support sustainable fisheries

Event Date: 
Thursday, October 31, 1 pm US EDT/10 am PDT/5 pm UTC

Join us Thursday, October 31, 1 pm US EDT/10 am PDT/5 pm UTC for webinar on EcoCast: A dynamic ocean management tool to reduce bycatch and support sustainable fisheries

Presented by: Elliott Hazen and Heather Welch of NOAA and the University of California Santa Cruz

Dynamic ocean management (DOM) is emerging as a solution to the challenge of spatially managing species and human activities that are dynamic in space and time. DOM strategies use real-time data on environmental conditions to design management boundaries that rapidly adjust in response to the shifting nature of the ocean and its biodiversity. This webinar introduces the fisheries sustainability tool EcoCast and explores the process of building, validating, operationalizing, maintaining, and forecasting with a dynamic ocean management tool. Join this webinar to learn about some of the challenges, solutions, and considerations of applied dynamic ocean management.

Co-sponsors: OCTO (OpenChannels, The Skimmer, MPA News) and the EBM Tools Network (co-coordinated by OCTO and NatureServe)

Add new comment