Identification of Gulf of Mexico Ecosystem Indicators using an Ecological Resilience Framework

Event Date: 
Tuesday, August 29, 2017 at 1pm US EDT / 10am US PDT / 5pm UTC

This webinar will be presented by Kathy Goodin of NatureServe.

Resource managers must monitor ecologically appropriate indicators to effectively evaluate the performance of their activities and to guide adaptive management. To support indicator monitoring efforts, we developed a set of ecological condition and ecosystem service indicators for five ecosystems in the Gulf using an ecological resilience framework. With input from ecosystem experts, we created conceptual ecological models that identify the drivers, stressors, major ecological factors and their key ecological attributes. Using the models as a guide, we identified indicators, metrics and assessment points that will allow monitoring programs to better gauge ecological condition and ecosystem service provision. This work can be used directly by resource managers and restoration practitioners to guide and evaluate the performance of their efforts.

Webinar co-sponsored by the EBM Tools Network (co-coordinated by NatureServe and OpenChannels.org) and MEAM.

Add new comment