The impact of human-caused ocean noise pollution on fish, invertebrates, and ecosystem services

Event Date: 
Tuesday, April 30, 1 pm US EDT/10 am US PDT/5 pm UTC

Join us Tuesday, April 30, 1 pm US EDT/10 am US PDT/5 pm UTC for a webinar on The impact of human-caused ocean noise pollution on fish, invertebrates, and ecosystem services

Presented by: Lindy Weilgart of Dalhousie University and OceanCare

Most fish and invertebrates use sound for vital life functions. This presentation will summarize highlights from 115 studies showing impacts from noise on 66 species of fish and 36 species of invertebrates. These impacts include decreased growth, body condition, feeding, reproduction, abundance, immune competency, nutritional condition, catch rates, school coordination and structure, nest-caring, and territory defense. Noise caused permanently damaged ears and sensory organs, developmental delays and malformations, and increased stress, metabolism, masking, and mortality. Impacts extend beyond individual species to include communities of species and how they interact, compromising ecosystem productivity, and ecological services (sediment mixing, nutrient cycling) with commercial consequences. Conservation and management implications of these findings, and possible policy solutions, will be discussed at the end of this presentation. This work was sponsored by OceanCare.

Co-sponsors: EBM Tools Network (co-coordinated by OCTO and NatureServe)

Add new comment