Insuring nature: An insurance policy for the Mesoamerican Reef

Event Date: 
February 28, 2018 1pm EST/ 10am PST / 6pm UTC

Join us Wednesday, February 28 2018 for a webinar on Insuring nature: An insurance policy for the Mesoamerican Reef.

Presenter: Fernando Secaira of The Nature Conservancy

Nature, including coral reefs, mangroves, wetlands, sand dunes, and healthy beaches, provides the first lines of defense to slow waves, reduce flooding, and protect coastal people and property. Insuring habitats like reefs and beaches can help protect the health and protective services of these ecosystems and ensure they are restored after extreme storms hit. Fernando Secaira of The Nature Conservancy (TNC) will discuss a pilot project underway in Mexico in partnership with Swiss Re and the Mexican state of Quintana Roo governments to insure coastal natural ecosystems that support tourism and offer an associated source of funding for ongoing reef protection and repair. 

This webinar is co-sponsored by the Reef Resilience Network and the EBM Tools Network (co-coordinated by OCTO and NatureServe).

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.

View System Requirements

Add new comment