Investigate Your Ocean Neighborhood with OceanReports

Event Date: 
Tuesday, July 28 at 1pm US EDT / 10am US PDT / 5pm UTC

Presented by: Christine Taylor of NOAA

Understanding ocean areas is critical for natural resource management, offshore energy planning, navigation planning, and aquaculture siting as well as many other applications. OceanReports is a publicly available web-based application that allows users to select an Area-of-Interest (AOI) anywhere in the US Exclusive Economic Zone and instantly obtain over 70 unique infographics with analyses of the location. Infographics include the area’s energy and minerals, natural resources, transportation, infrastructure, oceanographic and biophysical conditions, and contribution to the local ocean economy. OceanReports allow users to explore pertinent ocean data through interactive pop-ups and visualizations, toggle map displays of each layer, share results by web link, and print custom reports to inform various permitting processes. Metadata, data download, background information, and the analysis rule-sets are also available. In this webinar, the tool will be explained and demonstrated with a question and answer period to follow. Use the tool at https://marinecadastre.gov/oceanreports.

Co-sponsors: OCTO (MarineDebris.info, OpenChannels, The Skimmer, MPA News, EBM Tools Network)