Learning from others: The new global conservation planning database

Event Date: 
Thursday, February 27, 3 pm US EST/Noon US PST/8 pm UTC

Join us Thursday, February 27 3 pm US EST/Noon US PST/8 pm UTC for a webinar on Learning from others: The new global conservation planning database

Presented by: Jorge Álvarez-Romero, ARC Centre of Excellence for Coral Reef Studies, James Cook University

Creating a new marine conservation or management plan? Learn what others have done in the past – build on their research and experiences and how they addressed challenges – using the new Conservation Planning Database. The database recently launched with 163 peer-reviewed papers on 155 marine systematic conservation planning exercises from around the world. The database will help planners find relevant conservation plans from all over the world including their local area, scientists study trends in conservation planning, and donors and NGOs identify regions where little conservation planning has been done. Join this webinar to learn more about the database, what it reveals about that current state of marine systematic conservation planning, how you can add to it, and how developers are planning to make it even more useful.

Co-sponsored by: EBM Tools Network (co-coordinated by OCTO and NatureServe)

Add new comment