Optimizing Restoration Activities for Ecosystem Services: The Restoration Opportunities Optimization Tool (ROOT)

Event Date: 
Thursday, March 22, 2018 at 2pm EDT / 11am PDT / 6pm UTC

Join us Thursday, March 22, 2018 at 2pm EDT / 11am PDT / 6pm UTC for a webinar on Optimizing Restoration Activities for Ecosystem Services: The Restoration Opportunities Optimization Tool (ROOT) .  

Presenter: Peter Hawthorne of the University of Minnesota and the Natural Capital Project

Restoration Opportunities Optimization Tool (ROOT) is a software tool that helps decision makers evaluate trade-offs among different ecosystem services and visualize where investments in restoration could be made to optimize benefits for multiple landscape goals. It uses information about the potential impacts of restoration or management activities together with spatial prioritization or serviceshed maps to identify key areas for ecosystem service provision. It then uses multi-objective analysis to allow users to consider how to best manage tradeoffs between different project goals. ROOT has been applied in Costa Rica, Myanmar, Malawi, Colombia, and Brazil’s Espirito Santo State to help these countries optimize the placement of restoration activities for ecosystem services in national and subnational conservation, development, and agricultural objectives in support of increased ecological function to benefit people and livelihoods. It has not yet been applied in a coastal context but is applicable to coastal areas as well. The tool is free for download and use at https://www.naturalcapitalproject.org/root.

Webinar co-sponsored by EBM Tools Network (co-coordinated by NatureServe and OCTO) 

Register for the webinar at https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_aRKelKZITpeb-1z-NX23ig

Add new comment