Sharpening Our Focus on MPAs for 2020 and Beyond – Extended Q&A

Event Date: 
Monday, December 10, 1 pm US EST/10 am US PST/6 pm UTC

Presented by: Jane Lubchenco and Kirsten Grorud-Colvert of Oregon State University, Dan Laffoley of IUCN World Commission on Protected Areas-Marine, and Naomi Kingston of UNEP-World Conservation Monitoring Centre.

As countries work toward meeting their Aichi and SDG targets of protecting 10% of the ocean by 2020, and as post-2020 agenda discussions begin, many players are wrestling with the confusion around the plethora of types of MPAs and other related conservation measures. Fortunately, clarity surrounding many of the key issues is emerging. This webinar will describe the consensus arising from multiple recent MPA workshops, including answers to these questions: What is (and is not) an MPA? What standards should all MPAs meet? What are Other Effective Conservation Measures (OECMs) and how do they relate to MPAs?  IUCN already recognizes different types of MPAs according to their management objectives and governance arrangements, but is there a simple set of categories to describe the level of protection afforded by an MPA?  What outcomes are likely from different levels of protection?  Recognizing that it often takes time and multiple steps to establish a new MPA, when during the process should a new MPA be ‘counted’ in official tallies of total protection for a country or the world? Please note: This session is an extended question and answer session following the December 4 webinar on this subject. A brief overview of the December 4 presentations will be given at the beginning of this session, and a recording of the December 4 session will be sent to all preregistrants for the December 10 session.

Co-sponsors: NOAA National MPA Center, MPA News, EBM Tools Network (co-coordinated by OCTO and NatureServe)

Add new comment