Drivers and implications of change in global ocean health as demonstrated by the Ocean Health Index

Event Date: 
Tuesday, March 14, 2017 at 1pm US EDT / 10am US PDT / 5pm UTC

This webinar will be presented by Ben Halpern of the University of California, Santa Barbara and Steve Katona of Conservation International.

The Ocean Health Index (OHI) is a scientific assessment framework that combines and compares biological, physical, economic, and social elements of ocean health to assess how sustainably ocean resources are utilized within a given region. The OHI team recently published its fifth annual global assessment. For this webinar, lead scientists Benjamin Halpern and Steven Katona will discuss changes in OHI scores over five years, possible causes and consequences of those changes, challenges and opportunities for composite indicators to incorporate the best available science each year, and lessons learned in repeating and improving the OHI assessment each year.

Webinar co-sponsored by the EBM Tools Network (co-coordinated by NatureServe and OpenChannels.org) and MEAM.

Add new comment