What We Can Do to Curb Social and Human Rights Abuses in the Seafood Industry

Event Date: 
Tuesday, February 13, 2018 at 2pm EST / 11am PST / 7pm UTC

Join us Tuesday, February 13 at 2pm EST (New York) / 11am PST (Los Angeles) / 7pm UTC (London) for a webinar on What we can do to curb social and human rights abuses in the seafood industry.  

Presenters: Jack Kittinger, Nathan Bennett, Lydia Teh, Katrina Nakamura, Eddie Allison, and Yoshi Ota. 

Scientists have been working to make fisheries environmentally sustainable for decades. But startling exposés of human rights violations (particularly the widespread use of slave labor) in the seafood industry in the past few years have highlighted the need for governments, businesses, and nonprofits to start working together to address human rights and social issues in the sector – including access to resources and markets, food security, and livelihood security. Conservation International recently spearheaded a working group of environmental NGOs, social responsibility NGOs, academics, and business leaders to develop a framework for social responsibility and offer concrete recommendations to businesses, governments, and NGOs for ensuring that social responsibility is enforced throughout the seafood supply chain. These recommendations will help businesses reduce reputational risks in their seafood supply chains. They will help governments better regulate marine resources and their national seafood industries. And they will also help nonprofits and donor organizations determine the best ways to direct their resources to address critical social issues. Learn more at http://stories.conservation.org/a-sea-change-for-seafood.  

Webinar hosted by the EBM Tools Network (co-coordinated by OCTO and NatureServe). 

Register for the webinar at https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_MHePIJJRRE-k8RysYSJCww.

Add new comment