The "Why" Behind 30x30: The State of the Science on Marine Protected Area Benefits

Event Date: 
Thursday, April 29 at 1pm US EDT / 10am US PDT / 5pm UTC

Presented by: Sara Maxwell of University of Washington, Juan Mayorga of University of California at Santa Barbara and National Geographic Pristine Seas, Anne Guerry of Natural Capital Project, Stanford University, and Lauren Wenzel of NOAA

Marine protected areas (MPAs – areas of ocean that are protected for the long-term conservation of nature – are important tools for biodiversity protection, climate resilience, fisheries enhancement, and provide many benefits and services that people depend upon. In the face of the accelerating impacts of climate change, biodiversity loss, and increasing human pressures on the ocean, nations around the world have adopted a goal to protect at least 30% of the world’s ocean by 2030 through representative and effective networks of MPAs. In this webinar, speakers will provide an overview of the state of the science on MPA benefits, highlighting what we know about these important ocean conservation tools and the “why” behind the 30x30 goal. This webinar will help set the stage for a series of webinars focused on how the goal is being addressed in the United States, and speakers will highlight U.S.-based evidence and case studies where possible.

Co-sponsors: NOAA National MPA Center, and OCTO (MPA News, OpenChannels, EBM Tools Network)