Thank for you attending today's webinar!

Please see the list below for more upcoming events from OpenChannels by OCTO.

Upcoming Webinars and Events

EcoCast: A dynamic ocean management tool to reduce bycatch and support sustainable fisheries

Event Date: 
Thursday, October 31, 1 pm US EDT/10 am PDT/5 pm UTC

Join us Thursday, October 31, 1 pm US EDT/10 am PDT/5 pm UTC for webinar on EcoCast: A dynamic ocean management tool to reduce bycatch and support sustainable fisheries

Presented by: Elliott Hazen and Heather Welch of NOAA and the University of California Santa Cruz

Dynamic ocean management (DOM) is emerging as a solution to the challenge of spatially managing species and human activities that are dynamic in space and time. DOM strategies use real-time data on environmental conditions to design management boundaries that rapidly adjust in response to the shifting nature of the ocean and its biodiversity. This webinar introduces the fisheries sustainability tool EcoCast and explores the process of building, validating, operationalizing, maintaining, and forecasting with a dynamic ocean management tool. Join this webinar to learn about some of the challenges, solutions, and considerations of applied dynamic ocean management.

Co-sponsors: OCTO (OpenChannels, The Skimmer, MPA News, EBM Tools Network)

Making Marine and Coastal Protected Areas Climate Savvy

Event Date: 
Thursday, November 7, 2 pm US EST/11am US PST/7 pm UTC

Join us November 7 for a webinar on Making Marine and Coastal Protected Areas Climate Savvy.

Presented by: Eric Mielbrecht of EcoAdapt and Sara Hutto of the Greater Farallones Association

Making climate change adaptation planning simple and feasible for managers, The Climate Adaptation Toolkit for Marine and Coastal Protected Areas is a new resource consisting of a complement of tools that support climate vulnerability assessment, adaptation planning, and implementation. Users are supported by essential tools including a library of over 100 curated adaptation actions organized by habitat type and climate impact, each supported by case studies and documents from CAKEx.org, and the North American Marine Protected Area Rapid Vulnerability Assessment Tool. The toolkit is particularly effective as it was co-created with MPA managers and experts from Canada, Mexico and the U.S., working in concert with EcoAdapt, the Greater Farallones Association, and the Commission for Environmental Cooperation. View the toolkit at https://www.cakex.org/MPAToolkit.

Co-Sponsors: Parks Canada, NOAA National Marine Protected Areas Center, Comisión Nacional de Áreas Naturales Protegidas (CONANP), EcoAdapt, the Climate Adaptation Knowledge Exchange (CAKE), the Greater Farallones Association, and the Commission for Environmental Cooperation, and OCTO (MPA News, OpenChannels, EBM Tools Network)

Improving your impact: Guidelines for doing science that influences policy and management

Event Date: 
Tuesday, December 3, 1 pm US EST/10 am PST/6 pm UTC

Join us for a webinar on Improving your impact: Guidelines for doing science that influences policy and management

Presented by: Jon Fisher of The Pew Charitable Trusts

Scientists devote substantial time and resources to research to help solve environmental problems. And managers and policy makers must decide which actions will lead to desired environmental outcomes, based on the best-available evidence. Yet decision-makers frequently do not use much of this evidence. They may be unaware of it, lack access to it, not understand it, or view it as irrelevant. As a result, research intended to be applied often remains unused. In this webinar we outline a set of practical steps to improve the impact of science on decision making. These steps were developed from a review of the scientific literature on this topic and the input and experiences of numerous professionals in the field. The steps can be challenging to implement but should translate into science being used to inform environmental and conservation decisions more frequently. We will leave time for and welcome discussion and feedback from webinar participants.

Co-sponsors: OCTO (OpenChannels, The Skimmer, MPA News, EBM Tools Network)